Finding Yourself

Every path in life begins with self-discovery. It is how we can find our potential and purpose. Each decision we make is based off of what we truly need in life. The journey is all about the situations that get us there. Throughout the path, we grow and develop new interests and destinies. It’s up to ourselves to always listen and believe in our own mind, heart, and emotions.

This year started out just as crazy as 2020 was. Everything was clashing together, breaking all the things along my path. I had a plan and it all was washed away with nothing left. When I have no clue what to do, the universe literally took over. I lost relationships I should’ve long ago and then people from my past appeared. None of my paperworks would go through and then all of a sudden they were. Situations that I was stuck in become resolved. I felt like life was giving me an opening of time to relax and focus on a new beginning for myself.

Last year was really hard for me, as it was for everyone. I wanted control of everything because I sensed everything was going to fall apart. I am glad that I didn’t have enough control because I wouldn’t be in the spot I am today. I had to learn about myself through everything. I learned what I deserve and what I want to achieve. For a long time, I was stuck in this darkness that made me feel ugly in the inside and out. There was so much going on that I didn’t have patience for anything else and I just gave up on anything willing to be good because I thought I didn’t deserve it. I had to say goodbye to something I truly loved in order to start to love myself again. It was the worst roller coaster to be on for a couple months, but I began to step out more. I know what it feels like to laugh again and have this sense of peace inside myself.

There isn’t a box of normal to fit into because we all are different. We look, feel, sense, and think differently than others do. That is why it is important to be aware of ourself and understand what values we have. It’s okay to be open and show emotion! Life is one big lesson that creates a bigger you in the end. I definitely didn’t appreciate the few moments where I began to let myself be vulnerable. I had so much pain in the past that I didn’t want to open myself up to anything new. My past kept repeating itself however because I allowed it. Even if I was trying to protect myself for something, I was damaging the chance of any good possibilities.

It is an incredible journey to learn about yourself and truly get an idea of where your strive in life comes from. It’s important to fall in love with yourself before you try to find love in anything or any where else. The joy that comes within is the beginning to any moment. Others around you can tell you all about you and how they think you are but it’s up to you to make it a true statement or not. It’s nice to get a compliment but it can feel ten times better when you can believe it! Take time to practice being appreciative of yourself. For example, if you worked really hard at something, be proud of yourself! Tell yourself how much time you took for it and how strong you are! Express yourself and treat yourself just as much kindness as you would for someone else.

Leave a comment